About BIOS Awards

The BIOS uses its awards scheme to recognise exceptional service to the profession and to the Society and mark really exceptional service and commitment from orthoptists and, occasionally, individuals from other professions who have made a significant contribution.

There are a number of different awards that BIOS confers including:

  • BIOS & BOS TU Service awards – the majority of these are automatically conferred when an individual completes their last term of office for a particular post (e.g. as a Trustee, SIG Lead or Standing Committee Lead - like Education)
  • Regional awards - these require nomination
  • Fellowship awards – cv and form to be submitted (see below)

Awards nominations form Other Awards form 2016.doc

Awards for BIOS members are generally presented at an AGM or Scientific Conference.

Fellowship awards

Award winners

2016 Dr Nadia Northway

2014 Fanny Freeman, Lesley-Anne Baxter, Chris Timms, Dr Anna Horwood & Alison Firth (some of whom are pictured below)

2011 Rosie Auld, Shelagh Baynham & Lindsey Hughes

Making a Fellowship Award nomination Fellowship form 2016.doc

British and Irish Orthoptic Society

0203 853 9797

Salisbury House · Station Road
Cambridge · CB1 2LA
United Kingdom